Skip to main content

Layers of the Skin

By September 2, 2022No Comments

The skin is the body’s largest organ. Skin works by protecting the body from outside elements, preventing disease, and regulating the temperature of the body. Our skin is part of the body’s integumentary system, which contains skin, hair, glands, and nails.

The skin is made up of three layers: the epidermis, the dermis, and the hypodermis. The epidermis is the top layer of the skin. This layer acts as the body’s first layer of defense. The body continually makes new cells in the layer, approximately every 27 days you will have a new outer layer of the epidermis. The dermis or middle layer is the thickest layer of the skin. The layer contains blood vessels, oil glands, nerves, and hair roots. Collagen and elastin are also found within this layer. Wrinkles are formed in the dermis. The hypodermis, or the bottom layer, works to connect the skin to muscles and bones. This layer cushions the body, contains fat, and regulates the temperature of the body.

The skin is constantly regenerating new cells. Exfoliation is important to help remove old cells from the epidermis. Exfoliation can be mechanical such as microdermabrasion, or chemical exfoliation, like retinol. Exfoliation can help improve the skin’s texture and tone. Because the epidermis is regenerated every month, monthly treatments can help to improve the skin’s overall health.

Leave a Reply